Lemon Sugar Tea Cookies

I love to cook savoury meals but deep down I am really a dessert and baked goods kind of girl. My kitchen cupboards and fridge are stocked with healthy foods such as vegetables, whole grain goods, low-fat and fat-free dairy products, etc.

However there is one cupboard in my kitchen that holds ingredients that can be combined to make delicious treats that challenge my healthy eating. This cupboard is where I keep all my baking ingredients and when opened it releases the most heavenly smells that make me want to devour its entire contents.

For me there is nothing better than the sweet aroma of something baking in the oven and I find it difficult not to bake every free moment I get.

My boyfriend and I are big fans of biscuits and rusks but I generally don’t buy them because they are not healthy. So when we have a craving I tend to bake something myself.

This recipe is simple and delicious. I was sceptical about the lemon but as you can see we only use lemon extract which gives the biscuit a slight lemony taste.

The great thing about cookie dough is you can freeze it, so the next time you have that craving all you need to do is defrost and bake.

Brew up a nice pot of tea and enjoy!

Lemon Sugar Tea Cookies

Servings:  48

Ingredients

  • 3/4 cup butter
  • 1 cup white sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 2 tablespoons corn syrup/glucose*
  • 1 teaspoon lemon essence
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 cup white sugar

Directions/Method:

  • In a medium bowl, cream together the ¾ cup butter and 1 cup sugar until light and fluffy.
  • Beat in the egg, 2 tbsp corn syrup, and 1 tsp lemon extract.
  • Stir in the 2 cups of flour, 1 tsp baking soda, and 1 tsp baking powder.
  • Cover dough, and chill in the refrigerator at least 1 hour.
  • Preheat oven to 165 degrees C (325 degrees F).
  • Line a cookie sheet with parchment paper.
  • Roll chilled dough into walnut sized balls.
  • Roll balls in the remaining ½ cup sugar, and place on the prepared cookie sheet.
  • Bake for 12 minutes or until lightly browned.

If you cannot find corn syrup or glucose you can make your own sugar syrup.

See Sugar Syrup recipe

* HEALTHIER OPTIONS: Substitute the butter with Flora Extra Light Margarine and white sugar with brown/Xylitol.

Leave a Reply

