CHOCOLATE CHIP COOKIES

If you love chocolate chip cookies then this recipe is just for you!

Funnily enough I came across this recipe while gathering ingredients to start baking some chocolate chip cookies. The recipe was on the back of a box of chocolate chips that I was about to use. I still had not found that perfect choc-chip cookie recipe and as an avid baker I am always willing to try new recipes to find the ‘one’.

The final product was a batch of the most amazing homemade chocolate chip cookies I have ever baked! I had to hide the cookie jar to prevent my boyfriend and I from eating them all in one go.

I have finally found my chocolate chip cookie recipe! I hope you enjoy them as much as I do.

Makes: 20 large or 30 medium biscuits

Ingredients

  • 2/3 cups softened butter or margarine
  • ½ cup brown sugar
  • ½ cup white sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 tsp vanilla essence
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 ½ cup flour
  • ½ cup desiccated coconut
  • ½ tsp salt
  • 125g choc chips

Directions

  • Pre-heat oven to 180o C
  • Spray a baking tray with non-stick spray
  • Cream butter and white sugar until light and fluffy
  • Mix brown sugar, egg and vanilla essence together
  • Sift the dry ingredients (baking powder, flour and salt) into the wet mixture
  • Fold in the coconut and choc chips
  • You should have a stiff moist mixture by now
  • Dust your hands with some flour, then gather up some dough and roll into a large marble size ball.
  • Place the balls 5cm apart on a greased baking tray and pat down into round disks
  • Bake for 8 – 10 minutes

Suggestions: Add raisins or nuts if you desire

Leave a Reply

