Courgette/Zucchini Flapjacks

Baby marrows otherwise known as courgettes/zucchinis don’t rate particularly high on my list of favourite vegetables. I tend to ignore them when browsing the fruit and veg isle at my local supermarket. As a child the taste never appealed to me and you tend to avoid food you disliked when you were young.

However, my perception of baby marrows changed after watching an episode of Jamie Oliver one afternoon.  I watched tentatively as he made a rather unusual salad that consisted of grilled baby marrow (sliced wafer thin and grilled), red chilli, garlic, lemon juice, mint leaves and olive oil.  It looked delicious and so easy to make.

I decided to pick up a pack of baby marrows on my next trip to the supermarket and try it out. Needless to say the salad was delicious and I changed my perception of the once snubbed baby marrow.  I started experimenting with this revived vegetable and I have since created some delicious recipes.

The flapjacks can be used as a side dish or as a tasty snack. Enjoy


Ingredients

  • 2 medium sized baby marrows (courgettes) grated
  • 2 extra-large eggs
  • 2 tblsp of grated red onion
  • 90ml/100ml of all purpose flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp salt
  • Black pepper
  • Unsalted butter/canola oil – for frying

Method

  1. Mix all ingredients together in a bowl
  2. Heat the frying pan on medium heat and melt the butter and oil
  3. Spoon the mixture into the pan and fry the crumpets till golden brown

      

Leave a Reply

