Choc Nut Brownies

I was looking for a new brownie recipe when I remembered I had seen one in my local Fresh Living magazine. I sifted through the pile and came across Issue 71 where they publish the “Best Ever Brownie recipe”.

I tried it out and think I might have left it in the oven for a tad bit longer than I should have which made them slightly less fudgy than I wanted but otherwise they were delicious.

I reduced the amount of sugar the recipe called for (350g, I used 200g) and replaced a slab of dark chocolate with 100g of semi-sweet chocolate chips. The reduced sugar made them less sweet so if you like sweet brownies, keep the sugar at the stipulated 350g.

Makes: 16 Squares


Ingredients

  • 350g castor sugar
  • 4 extra large eggs
  • 150g butter (melted)
  • 1 tsp vanilla essence
  • 1 cup (150g) flour
  • Pinch salt
  • 1 cup (100g) cocoa powder
  • 2 slabs (200g) dark chocolate (roughly chopped)
  • 100g pecan nuts (chopped)

Method

  1. Preheat oven to 170ºC and line a 25 x 25 cm brownie tin with baking paper
  2. Beat sugar and eggs until pale
  3. Add the melted butter and vanilla essence
  4. Sift the dry ingredients and combine with the egg mixture
  5. Fold in the chocolate and nuts
  6. Pour the mixture into the brownie tin and bake for 30 to 40 minutes until slightly set
  7. Remove from oven and cool before cutting into squares

Instagram

Source: Fresh Living magazine Issue 71

Leave a Reply

